WhatsApp has finally publicly enabled a feature that allows you to delete specific messages sent to either a group or an individual chat.

And, no, it’s not the type of deleting where you only remove the message for yourself (which doesn’t do much to relieve the shame of a poorly thought out declaration) — this function actually deletes the message for everyone.

The other user or users in the chat can still see that something was sent, but the message will read ‘This message was deleted.’ In fact, those who beta tested the feature have revealed that the message even changes to that statement in the Android notification center.

The feature’s availability is somewhat ephemeral, though. You only have seven minutes after sending to delete the message, which isn’t quite long enough to sober up but does the provide the ability to take back those message you regret straight away.

Here are the steps:

  1. Go to the chat where you’ve sent an ill-conceived message, or messages.
  2. Tap and hold the ill-conceived message(s).
  3. Tap ‘Delete’ at the top of the screen, then select ‘Delete for everyone.’

It should be noted, however, that there’s another hitch in this new feature for the time being — both you and your friends must have the update. Currently, it appears to be rolling out slowly, so it’s probably better not to rely on this feature just yet.

This becomes less of an issue as the update covers more users, however, and you’ll also be notified if deleting for every user wasn’t successful, so you won’t have to agonize over whether or not you’ve pulled it off.

WhatsApp, one of the most popular messaging apps in the world, is all set to undertake a new change in the ‘Delete For All’ feature. It was last year in November when this feature was first made available by WhatsApp. Check out what the feature entails!

WhatsApp has updated the maximum time of revoke limit.

WhatsApp, one of the most popular messaging apps in the world, is all set to undertake a new change in the ‘Delete For All’ feature. It was last year in November when this feature was first made available by WhatsApp. Earlier, the time that users were allowed to delete a sent message was within 420 seconds or 7 minutes. However, with time, whatsapp groups has increased the time to delete a message for all. Now, WhatsApp has got a major update for the group admins in this regard.

According to WABetaInfo, a popular WhatsApp Beta tester, WhatsApp has updated the maximum time of revoke limit. Earlier, you could delete a message for everyone in a group message even after 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. The admin would get 1 day to receive the revoke request when a person deletes a sent message in a group chat. With this update, a WhatsApp user will now get 1 day, 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds to receive the revoke request.View image on Twitter [email protected]  

News about the max revoke limit.

1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds available to delete a message for everyone (like before).

1 day to receive the revoke request (OLD) -> 1 day, 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds to receive the revoke request (NEW)

More explanations in the image. 991:50 AM – May 11, 2018 25 people are talking about this Twitter Ads info and privacy View image on Twitter [email protected] Replying to @WABetaInfo 

Good news for you.
I can finally monitor the two revoke limits (sender and recipient), so I will always notify all my followers once WhatsApp updates the limit(s) in a new update.

CURRENT DATA:
Sender limit: 1h, 8m, 16s.
Recipient limit: 1 day, 1h, 8m, 16s.
Valid for Android/WP. 534:12 AM – May 11, 2018 See WABetaInfo’s other Tweets Twitter Ads info and privacy 

However, there is a catch with the update. As of now, this feature is available for WhatsApp on Android only. Another caveat is that this update is for WhatsApp Beta users only. That means there is time for this feature to actually show up on regular update on WhatsApp.

Meanwhile, the Facebook-owned WhatsApp will be coming out with another feature for its 1.5 billion active users. The new feature is called ‘Chat Filter’. According to a report by WaBetaInfo, this feature will allow the user to quickly search messages, filtering them per unread chats, groups and broadcast lists. Once the user taps ‘Search’, a ‘Filter’ icon will be available.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.